FAQ Coronavirus

Frequently Asked Questions about Visa Service and residence permit
 

Is the Visa Service open?



When will the Visa Service reopen?



I submitted my passport with the application for a residence permit/extension of a residence permit to the Berlin Immigration Office through the HU Visa Service. When and how will I get my passport back?



Is the Berlin Immigration Office open and can I go there myself?



I am in Germany, and my residence permit/visa/fictional certificate (Fiktionsbescheinigung) will expire in the next six weeks. What do I have to do?



I am in Germany, and I have a temporary residence permit (Aufenthaltsgestattung), temporary leave to remain (Duldung), certificate to cross the border (Grenzübertrittsbescheinigung), a certificate according to section 84, para. 2 of the AufenhaltsG (so-called L 4048 certificate) or passport collection certificate (Passeinzugsbescheinigung). What do I have to do?



I study in Berlin and have a residence permit, but I am currently in my home country. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, I will be staying in my home country longer than planned, which is in the Federal Republic of Germany's best interest (infection protection). Will my residence permit lose its validity after six months?



I study in Berlin and have a valid residence permit. I am currently in my home country. What do I have to do, if my residence permit expires before I want to return to Germany?



 

Is the Visa Service open?

Due to the policies to curb the spread of the coronavirus, the Visa Service - along with the entire university - is closed until further notice. However, we will continue to answer your questions via e-mail. ► hu.berlin/orbis-visa-en

 

When will the Visa Service reopen?

Current information regarding our office hours and counselling opportunities will be posted on our websites. hu.berlin/orbis-visa-en

 

I submitted my passport with the application for a residence permit/extension of a residence permit to the Berlin Immigration Office through the HU Visa Service. When and how will I get my passport back?

Your application was submitted to the Berlin Immigration Office/Higher Education Service and will be processed as usual. The HU Visa Service will contact you by e-mail as soon as you can pick up your passport. However, we are not able to pick up passports at this time, as the Berlin Immigration Office is closed to the public. Should you have any questions or difficulties, please contact us directly, and we will do our best to find a solution. ► visaservice@hu-berlin.de

 

Is the Berlin Immigration Office open and can I go there myself?

The Berlin Immigration Office has reopened all its locations starting 04.05.2020. Customers will receive an invitation or will be asked to submit their documents by e-mail. It is still NOT possible to book appointments online! During this period, customers will be served either online or in writing. Personal consultation during the opening hours without an appointment is NOT possible. ► www.berlin.de/einwanderung/ueber-uns/aktuelles/artikel.927217.php


In this case, please fill out the online form of the Berlin Immigration Office. Through this registration, the Berlin Immigration Office will send you a certificate and, as soon as the regular business operations have been completely restored, an appointment (for the issuance of a residence permit as an adhesive label in your passport).


I am in Germany, and I have a temporary residence permit (Aufenthaltsgestattung), temporary leave to remain (Duldung), certificate to cross the border (Grenzübertrittsbescheinigung), a certificate according to section 84, para. 2 of the AufenhaltsG (so-called L 4048 certificate) or passport collection certificate (Passeinzugsbescheinigung). What do I have to do?

In this case, please fill out the online form of the Berlin Immigration Office. Through this registration, the Berlin Immigration Office will send you a certificate and, as soon as the regular business operations have been completely restored, an appointment (for the issuance of a residence permit as an adhesive label in your passport).

 

I study in Berlin and have a residence permit, but I am currently in my home country. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, I will be staying in my home country longer than planned, which is in the Federal Republic of Germany's best interest (infection protection). Will my residence permit lose its validity after six months?

The six-month period will be extended until 30 September 2020 for foreigners who exited Germany's federal territory between 18 September 2019 and 17 March 2020 and will not re-enter Germany within six months. This only applies if your residence permit will still be valid on the date of re-entry. General Decree with regard to the German Residency Act (AufenthG): ► Source.

 

I study in Berlin and have a valid residence permit. I am currently in my home country. What do I have to do, if my residence permit expires before I want to return to Germany?by e-mail

In this case it is necessary to apply anew for a re-entry visa on the basis of the current residence permit. It is not possible to re-enter Germany without a valid visa or a valid residence permit ► Source.

 


 

enlightened Please note that these policies from the Berlin Immigration Office only apply to individuals who are registered in Berlin! These provisions could, if applicable, be extended past 17 June 2020 through a new general decree.

Status as of: 22.06.2020


 

Guide for International Students

Guide for International Students

FAQ Coronavirus

Fragen und Antworten zum Visaservice
 

Ist der Visaservice geöffnet?



Wann wird der Visaservice wieder geöffnet?



Ich habe meinen Pass mit dem Antrag auf Erteilung bzw. Verlängerung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis über den HU-Visaservice beim Landesamt für Einwanderung (LEA) eingereicht. Wann und wie bekomme ich meinen Pass zurück?



Ist das Landesamt für Einwanderung geöffnet und kann ich allein dorthin gehen?



Ich bin in Deutschland und mein Aufenthaltstitel/Visum/Fiktionsbescheinigung läuft in den nächsten sechs Wochen aus. Was muss ich tun?



Ich bin in Deutschland und im Besitz einer Aufenthaltsgestattung, einer Duldung, einer Grenzübertrittsbescheinigung, einer Bescheinigung nach § 84 Absatz 2 AufenthG (sogenannte L 4048-Bescheinigung) oder Passeinzugsbescheinigung. Was muss ich tun?



Ich studiere in Berlin, befinde mich aber zurzeit mit einem Aufenthaltstitel in meinem Heimatland. Aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie bleibe ich dort länger als geplant, was durchaus im Interesse der Bundesrepublik liegt (Infektionsschutz). Wird mein Aufenthaltstitel nach sechs Monaten seine Gültigkeit verlieren?



Ich studiere in Berlin und befinde mich zurzeit mit einem gültigen Aufenthaltstitel im Heimatland. Was muss ich machen, wenn mein Aufenthaltstitel abläuft, bevor ich wieder nach Deutschland einreisen möchte?



 

Ist der Visaservice geöffnet?

Aufgrund von Maßnahmen gegen die Ausbreitung des Coronavirus ist der HU-Visaservice - wie die gesamte Universität - bis auf Weiteres geschlossen. Wir beantworten jedoch auch weiterhin alle eure Fragen per E-Mail. hu.berlin/orbis-visa

 

Wann wird der Visaservice wieder geöffnet?

Über unsere Öffnungszeiten und Beratungsmöglichkeiten informieren wir euch immer aktuell auf unser Webseite. ► hu.berlin/orbis-visa

 

Ich habe meinen Pass mit dem Antrag auf Erteilung bzw. Verlängerung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis über den HU-Visaservice beim Landesamt für Einwanderung (LEA) eingereicht. Wann und wie bekomme ich meinen Pass zurück?

Dein Antrag wurde zur Bearbeitung beim LEA/Hochschulservice eingereicht und wird wie gewohnt bearbeitet. Der HU-Visaservice wird dich via E-Mail kontaktieren, sobald du deinen Pass abholen kannst. Zurzeit können wir allerdings keine Pässe abholen, da auch der Hochschulservice für das Publikum geschlossen ist. Bei Fragen und Problemen wende dich bitte direkt an uns und wir versuchen, eine Lösung zu finden. ► visaservice@hu-berlin.de

 

Ist das Landesamt für Einwanderung geöffnet und kann ich allein dorthin gehen?

Das Landesamt für Einwanderung (LEA) ist an allen Standorten wieder geöffnet, dennoch werden ab dem 04.05.2020 ausschließlich Kunden bedient, die sich online registriert haben. Diese erhalten via E-Mail eine Einladung oder eine Aufforderung, ihre Unterlagen einzureichen. Es ist weiterhin NICHT möglich, Termine online zu buchen! Die Kundenbedienung erfolgt in diesem Zeitraum im Online- oder Schriftverfahren. Vorsprachen sind ohne Termin NICHT möglich. ► www.berlin.de/einwanderung/ueber-uns/aktuelles/artikel.927217.php


Ich bin in Deutschland und mein Aufenthaltstitel/Visum/Fiktionsbescheinigung läuft in den nächsten sechs Wochen aus. Was muss ich tun?

In dem Fall trage dich bitte in dieses Onlineformular des Landesamtes für Einwanderung (LEA) ein. Durch die Registrierung wird dir das LEA eine Bescheinigung zusenden sowie nach vollständiger Wiederherstellung des Dienstbetriebes einen Termin (zur Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Klebeetikett) vergeben.


Ich bin in Deutschland und im Besitz einer Aufenthaltsgestattung, einer Duldung, einer Grenzübertrittsbescheinigung, einer Bescheinigung nach § 84 Absatz 2 AufenthG (sogenannte L 4048-Bescheinigung) oder Passeinzugsbescheinigung. Was muss ich tun?

In dem Fall trage dich bitte in dieses Onlineformular des Landesamtes für Einwanderung (LEA) ein. Durch die Registrierung wird dir das LEA eine Bescheinigung zusenden sowie nach vollständiger Wiederherstellung des Dienstbetriebes einen Termin (zur Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis als Klebeetikett) vergeben.

 

Ich studiere in Berlin, befinde mich aber zurzeit mit einem Aufenthaltstitel in meinem Heimatland. Aufgrund der Coronavirus-Pandemie bleibe ich dort länger als geplant, was durchaus im Interesse der Bundesrepublik liegt (Infektionsschutz). Wird mein Aufenthaltstitel nach sechs Monaten seine Gültigkeit verlieren?

Für Ausländer, die vom 18.09.2019 bis spätestens 17.03.2020 aus dem Bundesgebiet ausgereist sind und nicht innerhalb von 6 Monaten nach der Ausreise wieder nach Deutschland einreisen, wird die 6-Monatsfrist bis zum 30.09.2020 verlängert. Dies gilt nur, sofern der Aufenthaltstitel zum Zeitpunkt der Wiedereinreise noch gültig ist. Allgemeinverfügung zum AufenthG. Allgemeinverfügung zum AufenthG ► Quelle

 

Ich studiere in Berlin und befinde mich zurzeit mit einem gültigen Aufenthaltstitel im Heimatland. Was muss ich machen, wenn mein Aufenthaltstitel abläuft, bevor ich wieder nach Deutschland einreisen möchte?

In dem Fall ist es notwendig, auf der Grundlage des bisherigen Aufenthaltstitels erneut ein Visum zur Wiedereinreise zu beantragen. Die Einreise nach Deutschland kann keinesfalls ohne ein gültiges Visum bzw. ohne gültige Aufenthaltserlaubnis erfolgen. ► Quelle

 


 

enlightened Bitte beachtet, dass all diese Regelungen nur für das LEA Berlin gelten, also nur für Personen, die in Berlin gemeldet sind! Diese Regelungen können ggf. durch erneute Allgemeinverfügungen auch über den 17.06.2020 hinaus verlängert werden.

Stand: 22.06.2020
 

Wegweiser für internationale Studierende

Wegweiser für internationale Studierende